HYDRIA by Stableford

Album Release Date : May 11, 2023
Buy now at the Domo store
Listen at Spotify
Listen at Apple Music
Listen at Amazon

Hydria is the sophomore album by Stableford, conceived, composed and performed by Stephen Small.  Also appearing on the album are Dan Antunovich (bass) and Jasper De Roos (drums).

The Hydria album explores the relationship between Classical music, Metal and New Age music.  Although primarily a keyboardist, Stephen’s interest in progressive guitar music, synthesizers and orchestration resulted in the two multi-movement long-form tracks, titled Omorfia and Aletheia.  The song titles, meaning Beauty and Truth, are a reference to the Keats poem, Ode On A Grecian Urn.  This was an inspiration behind Stephen’s exploration of the relationships between art, beauty and truth as it applies to his varied tastes in music.

“Many art forms search for objective beauty.  Typically Metal does not, although the virtuoso aspects of metal exemplify beauty in mastery of technique.  A search for beauty is absolutely and unapologetically at the core of New Age music, where virtuoso technique is arguably less of a focus, but often draws from the music qualities of classical forms.  With Hydria, my aim was to find truth at the place where these musical traditions intersect, co-exist and interrelate.” – Stephen Small

| T R A C K S |
01.  Omorfia
02. Aletheia

| C R E D I T S |
Produced by Stephen Small and Scott Seabright
Composed and Arranged by Stephen Small
Recorded, Mixed and Mastered by Scott Seabright
Stephen Small : Guitar, Piano, Synthesizers
Dan Antunovich : Bass Guitar
Drums : Jasper De Roos
Executive Producer : Eiichi Naito
Artists + Repertoire : Dino Malito
Cover Art Design : Charles Small

This entry was posted in Stephen Small and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.