Tao of Sound: These Times
New Artist: Roman
Kitaro: Kojiki (2-Disc Remastered Deluxe Edition)
Stephen Small: Inamorata : Letters Of Devotion
VINYL Limited Edition
KUUBOKUMON Handmade Accessories

Store Top   >   Tao Of Sound   >   Metro
Tao Of Sound: Metro


Tao Of Sound

"Metro" is the debut album from experimental multi-instrumentalists Taku Hirano and Daniel Pearson, otherwise known as the band Tao Of Sound. The rich selection of songs on the album were all composed, arranged, produced, and performed by the duo, with the exception of two compositions from renowned musicians Kitaro and Kenji Bunch.

The album appears after an already impressive career run of performing and recording with a wide array of talents, including some of the biggest names in the American music industry, from almost every genre of popular music, including Jay-Z, Fleetwood Mac, Stevie Wonder, and Nine Inch Nails. Internationally, Tao of Sound has worked with Academy Award-winning film composer A.R. Rahman, and the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra. Chances are you've already been exposed to some of their soothing ambient soundscapes, as Tao Of Sound has contributed to the soundtracks of a number of television productions and feature films.

Having made a name for themselves as expert remix artists (including such recent, notable works as Kanye West's "Heartless" and tracks from the Michael Jackson Remix Suite), the album allows Tao Of Sound to step to the front of the stage with their eclectic, ever-changing style. Alternately pulsating and mellow, the varied compositions on Metro cover an impressive gamut of styles and sounds, informed by the breadth of their experience with other artists. The album cover pretty much says it all, with a contemplative Buddha sporting massive headphones and throwing up the "rock-and-roll" hand gesture. Combining Zen-like Eastern influences with electronic beats and rock swagger, Tao of Sound has carved out a completely original musical identity and delivered a striking, memorable debut.

Track List

  • 01.  Metro
  • 02.  Voices In The Wind
  • 03.  Teardrops
  • 04.  Lullaby For My Favorite Insomniac (feat. The Ahn Trio)
  • 05.  Beat-N-Path
  • 06.  Reflections
  • 07.  Hagakure
  • 08.  The Journey Home
  • 09.  The Field
  • 10.  Looking At The Moon (And Thinking Of One Far Away)
  • 11.  Race Against Time
  • 12.  Eavesdropping
  • 13.  Reflections (Chillax Mix)
  • 14.  Voices In The Wind (Kymira Mix)
Buy This Album