Tao of Sound: These Times
New Artist: Roman
Kitaro: Kojiki (2-Disc Remastered Deluxe Edition)
Stephen Small: Inamorata : Letters Of Devotion
VINYL Limited Edition
KUUBOKUMON Handmade Accessories

Store Top   >   Indicia   >   Identifying Marks
Indicia: Identifying Marks

Identifying Marks


After generating a steady positive buzz from their live shows the release of INDICIA'S first album on kanpai records culminates phase one of Betsy Ullery and David Ward's cognitive yet ethereal musical collaboration.  Looking forward, the duo aims to keep after what moves them musically to make their singular mark.

The INDICIA sound has already provoked more than a few raves.  Bill Picture of the San Francisco Examiner calls it a "highly infectious strain of itchy electromagnetic funk... a trippy mix of slow rollin', hypno breaks, Ursual Rucker-style spoken word and ethereal Portishead-style vocals."  Betsy details the INDICIA approach: "Our music is about combining two forces --the reality of our world and the reality of our collective subconscious.  We want to be an example of how different genres and musical mentalities can combine and work."  Says Dave of INDICIA'S open-to-anything style: "We just let it happen."

"Indicia's trip-hop-flavored sound coats a room with an atmosphere as thick as pea soup.  The duo has been compared to Portishead and the Sneaker Pims...But [Ullery and Ward] generally eschew a beatific sexuality."
- Sara Torribio-Bond, Music Connection Magazine

"INDICIA has a style that is alive and moving.  The songs come at you full force and don't stop."
- Alex Tietz, Femmusic.com

Track List

  • 01.  It's Coming Around
  • 02.  Corners
  • 03.  Powder
  • 04.  Elapse
  • 05.  Rescue Me (Interlude)
  • 06.  Rescue Me
  • 07.  Casualty
  • 08.  Run Away
  • 09.  Incomplete (Interlude)
  • 10.  Incomplete
  • 11.  FNB
Buy This Album
CD MP3 iTunes