Kitaro: An Ancient Journey

An Ancient Journey


This two-disc set featuring 19 compositions is a wonderful glimpse into the great civilizations past through the eyes of musical pioneer and Grammy Award winning composer, Kitaro.  In An Ancient Journey, Kitaro takes his audience on a trek to worlds far away.  Listeners embark on a mysterious crusade, witnessing "the texture, life and spirit of the world's ancient people." Traditional Middle Eastern and Chinese instruments in addition to one of his favorite technological advances, the analogue synthesizer, make An Ancient Journey a melodic voyage, which is vintage Kitaro.  In addition to his signature arrangements, the recording features a new addition to Kitaro's musician family, Kristin Kanda on flute.

Kitaro was commissioned to record the accompanying soundtrack to the NHK television special, "Messages From the Past".

Track List

Disc 1

  • 01.  Whisper
  • 02.  Daichi
  • 03.  Tabiji
  • 04.  Wave of Sand
  • 05.  Golden Mask
  • 06.  Fairy of Water
  • 07.  Sampona Dance
  • 08.  Toward the East
  • 09.  Maya Magic

Disc 2

  • 01.  Sumerian Magic
  • 02.  Inca
  • 03.  Wonderland I
  • 04.  Pray for Being
  • 05.  Sitara IV
  • 06.  Mori no Tami
  • 07.  The Pharaoh
  • 08.  Wonderland II
  • 09.  Main Theme Nile - Version II
  • 10.  Sumerian Magic II
Buy This Album
CD MP3 iTunes